Exchange Newsletter

June 15, 2008

Volume 13, Number 25

Publisher

The Exchange Club of Sugar Land

4800 Sugar Grove Blvd. Suite 100 Stafford, TX 77477

Weekly Meetings

Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m. Sweetwater Country Club Palm Royale Blvd. Sugar Land, Texas

Officers 2007-2008 President

Clark Walter (281) 277-6400

President-Elect

President-Elect

Jim Kij (713) 980-1500

Secretary

Paul DeMarsh (713) 782-7730

Treasurer

Pat Welsh (281) 343-0444

Board of Directors

Betty Baitland (281) 242-2214 Larry Pullen (281) 530-9373 Bill Rohrbach (713) 521-0221 Robert Kern (281) 238-3290 Leslie Woods (281) 295-5732 Don Burns (281) 491-6274 Paula Stansell (713) 718-6772 Amy Mitchell (713) 522-9444

Webmaster: Jake Messinger jake@jakes.org

Newsletter: Sue Lockwood sklockwood@comcast.net

Calendar: Paul Barnett psb1@ix.netcom.com

Exchange Club of Sugar Land Supporting Our Community



President Clark Walter presented a check in the amount of \$7500 to Dennis McAfee for Fort Bend County Crime Stoppers, Inc. Crime Stoppers began its work in Fort Bend in August 1981. They serve all of the Law Enforcement agencies in Fort Bend County and operate with only nonpaid volunteers. www.fortbend-tx-crimestoppers.org

Wende Lewis-Blickley and Tonya Lewis accepted a check for \$2000 for Fort Bend Rainbow Room which provides emergency and transitional supplies for unmet material needs of children and families in crisis.

www.fbrr.org



Laura LaVigne was presented \$1000 for **The ARC of Fort Bend County** which provides opportunities for people with intellectual disabilities to maximize their quality of life. www.arcoffortbend.org



John Robson accepted \$1000 for Ft. Bend Regional Council on Substance Abuse, Inc. Programs are offered in schools and summer camp to help children make good choices, www.fortbendcouncil.org



Mary Gready, Ft.Bend Partnership for Youth, accepted a check for \$1000. Their mission is to reduce youth involvement with the juvenile justice system by establishing positive relationships between youthful offenders and volunteer mentors from the community. www.fortbendstar.com/Nonprofit/Service/ FBPtnrForYouth.htm

Photos by Jim Kij



Exchange Club of Sugar Land President, Clark Walter presented a check in for \$500 to Mary Preble for Cub Scout Pack 1133.

Don Rakoski represented **Boy Scout Troop 731** by accepting a check for \$1750. Scouts from 731 help with many of our club functions, like busing tables at Spaghetti.



Happy Father's Day



Club member **Ron Norsworthy** was surprised with a Father's Day visit from his daughter, Courtney, and two grandsons. Sonja looks very happy to see them too.



The Officers and Directors of

The Exchange Club of Sugar Land

Request the honor of your presence

To attend and participate in the Inauguration of

James Edwin Kij

As President of the Exchange Club of Sugar Land and The 2008-2009

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

on
Friday the twenty-seventh of June
Two thousand and eight
at Sweetwater Country Club
6:00 pm Reception, 7:00 pm Dinner
Please RSVP to Betty Baitland at 281-242-2214
or betty@baitland.com
Non-Members and Guests \$35 per person



GO BIG! Avice Chambers from **Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Houston** spoke of the need for mentors for children in Fort Bend County. There is usually a six month wait for a boy or girl to get a big brother or big sister. More men are needed to mentor 13-16 year old boys. If you are interested in volunteering a few hours twice a month you can contact their new Fort Bend County Branch Office at 10435 Greenbough Lane, Suite 200, Stafford Texas 77477, (281) 207-2330 or visit the website at www.bbbshouston.org



June Birthdays

Cynthia von Tesmar, Michelle Badillo, Dennis Palmer, Naomi Lam, Linda Patterson, Stewart Jacobson, Barbara Brescian, Dave Wallace, Lindsay Lanagan, Susan Delcos, Pat Welsh, Greg Oelfke, Don Rollins, Don Novack,

The Exchange Club of Sugar Land www.ecsl.org



TX LA District Exchange www.tlgcd.org



National Exchange Club www.nationalexchangeclub.org

New Members



Four new members were inducted in May. Left to right with their sponsors: Jim Kij, Jennifer Gonzales, Ed Hyslip, Jeri Krauss, John Robson, Linda Schoonmaker, Susan Whitacre, Clark Walter and David Wallace.

The **New Member Orientation Dinner** will be held at the home of Jeri Krauss, 827 Harbour Place, Sugar Land on Thursday, June 19th at 7:00 p.m. All new members and their spouses are invited. RSVP jerikrauss@comcast.net.



Ed Hyslip



Susan Whitacre





John Robson

Photos by Larry Pullen



Jennifer Gonzales