

Exchange Hotline

EDIT AWARD BEST CLUB BULLETIN 2008

Exchange Newsletter

May 15, 2011 Volume 16, Number 21

Publisher

The Exchange Club of Sugar Land

4800 Sugar Grove Blvd. Suite 100 Stafford, TX 77477

Weekly Meetings

Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m. Sweetwater Country Club Palm Royale Blvd. Sugar Land, Texas

Officers 2010-2011

President: Amy Mitchell

President Elect: Steve Griffith

Secretary: Vita Goodell

Treasurer: Pat Welsh

Immediate Past President: Betty Baitland

Board of Directors

Shirley Brown

Roy Miers

Jake Messinger

Linda Schoonmaker

Gladys Brumfield

Al McDonald

John Robson

Reagan Walters

Photographers:

Larry Pullen Ed Lee Al McDonald

Webmaster: Jake Messinger website@ecsl.org

Newsletter: Sue Lockwood newsletter@ecsl.org

Calendar: Paul Barnett calendar@ecsl.org

Supporting Scouting

Boy Scout Troop 731 received a contribution from The Exchange Club of Sugar Land in the amount of \$1250. They generously designated \$500 of the donation to Cub Scout Pack 1133. All the boys have helped for many years bussing tables at our Spaghetti Cook-off.





l/r Exchange member Carey Snyder, Randy Taylor, President Amy Mitchell, Don Rokowski and Daryl Povlicheck.

Girl Scout Leader Stephaney Davis brought six hard working Girl Scouts with her to accept a check in the amount of \$500 for their troop. This troop has helped tirelessly with Santa's Exchange for many years.

Supporting Outstanding Youth

2011 Youth of the Year Kempner High School

Greg Fornier, shown here with his Mom and Dad and Exchange Member Nick Landowski, will be going on to the District Level competition hoping for the National Exchange Club title.





2011 ACE Award Winner Clements High School

Floyeshia Rubin received the ACE Award (Accepting the Challenge of Excellence) from the Exchange Club of Sugar Land. This award recognizes high school seniors who have overcome great physical, emotional, and social obstacles to succeed in the classroom. This recognition serves as a powerful example to all students that hard work and perseverance really matter.

WELCOME NEW MEMBERS!

Anthony Lacsamana and **Joanne Laskey** were inducted into The Exchange Club of Sugar Land this month.





Program Chair **Harish Jajoo** introduced speaker **Eric Maddox,** who spoke about his involvement in the capture of Saddam Hussein. Eric is a civilian interrogator for the Department of Defense after serving as an Army Sergeant and a member of Delta Force Special Ops. He signed his book **Mission Black List #1** for Exchangites who wished to read this exciting account of the events that lead to the capture of Saddam Hussein.

Upcoming Events

Save the Date: Friday, June 24, 2011 - Installation Banquet Steve Griffith, ECSL President 2011-12

Memorial Day Ceremony

The 3rd Annual Sugar Land Memorial Day Ceremony will be held on Monday, May 30th at Sugar Land Memorial Park from 10:00 AM -12:00 Noon. Our club 's GIVETHEKIDAFLAGTOWAVE program will be in full swing. All members are invited to come out and help celebrate America and Memorial Day. Be there about 9:30 AM Daye Kiger, Americanism. dmkiger@comcast.net





Centennial Celebration National Convention Detroit, Michigan July 6-9, 2011 www.nationalexchangeclub.org



Nancy Colmenares, Roy Miers, Edward Lee Ron Norsworthy, Lisa Anhaiser, Linda Johnson

Tom Tielke, Jack Williams, Kay Parker Mark Lukin, Ethan Shinogle, Reagan Walters, Scott Yokley, Mary Jo Salvaggio, Elizabeth Howard, Jorge Marra, Gary Panetti, Ron Booker Please congratulate the following members:

Amy Mitchell named NAPW 2011 Woman of the Year. Carey Snyder is soon to be a Grandpa. Leslie Woods is soon to be a Grandma.

Please keep these Exchange members and their families in your thoughts and prayers:
Diane Nevotti and family at the passing of Tom.

Mike Kessler's wife Brenda had back surgery.