

Exchange Newsletter July 1, 2014 Volume 20, Number 1 Publisher

The Exchange Club of Sugar Land

4800 Sugar Grove Blvd. Suite 100 Stafford, TX 77477

www.ecsl.org

Weekly Meetings

Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m.

Sweetwater Country Club Palm Royale Blvd. Sugar Land, Texas

Officers 2013-2014

President: John Robson

President Elect: Kevin Barker

Secretary: Charlie Braun

Treasurer: Leo Weinberg

Immediate Past President: Robert Kern

Board of Directors

Doug Brinkley Jeri Krauss David Lanagan Carlos Perez Bill Rohrbach Pat Welsh Rod White Shaunna Witt

Webmaster: Charlie Braun website@ecsl.org

Newsletter : Sue Lockwood newsletter@ecsl.org



Immediate Past President Judge Robert Kern passed the gavel to **President John Robson** at the Inauguration Dinner on June 25, 2014.



Photos by Larry Pullen

President's message:

I joined ECSL in May of 2008. It seemed a natural step on a personal journey that began back in 2005, at that time I was going dissatisfied with where my life was heading. I was in need of change and it boiled down to Selfishness. Along with immersing myself in church, I believe ECSL has been one of the best opportunities I have ever taken advantage of. I have been so grateful to have been mentored by so many. This is truly an extended family.

So what are my goals as president of the largest club in TEXAS and the fifth largest Exchange clubs in the United States?

- 1. Make Exchange Club Fun
- 2. Build the membership by appealing to younger audiences
- 3. Increase average attendance at meetings
- 4. Finalize our partnership with Toys for Tots
- Receive National Recognition through National Service Award and Big "E" Award

My theme this year is, "Show Up." I want to personally encourage everyone to make an effort to be here each week, and share with others that that you miss them when you don't see them. It is human nature, if you don't think you will be missed then you are more likely to not attend. I have learned after twenty-four years of marriage that we have to be deliberate in our relationships. Exchange is no exception; we must demonstrate love and reach out to one other. I know these are lofty goals considering all this Exchange Club has accomplished but, together we can make this the best year ever.

John Robson





Officers: I/r President John Robson, Treasurer Leo Weinberg, President Elect Kevin Barker, Immediate Past President Robert Kern. Board members: Shaunna Witt, Jeri Krauss, Bill Rohrbach, Pat Welsh, Rod White, Doug Brinkley, and Secretary Charlie Braun. Board Member David Lanagan (not pictured).

President John Robson



Larry Street





President Elect, Kevin Barker





Jake Messinger singing the National Anthem



A gift for Past President Kern





Susan and Bob Hargarther ECSL Co-founder



Jim Kij, Harish Jajoo and Ed Lee



Flowers for Suzie Kern



Zubair Ashraf and Farha Ahmed